Aart Jan de Geus, former Minister of Social Affairs and Employment, and banker Ernst-Jan Boers will be appointed as members of the Supervisory Board of Triodos Bank during Triodos Bank’s Annual General Meeting on Friday 23 May. The current Chair, Hans Voortman, and Jan Lamers will step down. Both are at the conclusion of their final terms. Aart Jan De Geus will be appointed as the new Chair of the Board.

With these appointments, Triodos Bank will benefit from the broad social, governance and banking knowledge and experience it requires within the Supervisory Board.

Aart Jan de Geus: “Triodos Bank stems from a pioneering spirit and down-to-earth work. It has shown that its chosen path is  both resilient and profitable. I look forward to contributing to the further development of the bank in the coming years.” 

Aart Jan De Geus (1955) is Chairman of the Executive Board of the Bertelsmann Stiftung which focuses on social issues in both Germany and on a global level. Prior to this he was Deputy Secretary-General at the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in Paris and Minister of Social Affairs and Employment in the Balkenende I, II and III cabinets (2002-2007). 

Ernst-Jan Boers: “I believe in banking that sees people and their environment as key and I am an advocate of more diversity in the banking landscape. I hope to be able to use my experience to contribute to Triodos Bank's further development in an increasingly complex environment with growing pressure from external regulation and supervision.”

Ernst-Jan Boers (1966) was Chief Executive Officer at SNS Retail Bank until 1 March 2014 where he previously held the position of Chief Financial Risk Officer. Prior to that he worked at ABN AMRO Hypotheken Groep B.V. (October 1998 until March 2007).

Hans Voortman (1944) is the former Managing Director of the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) Netherlands and the former Company Director of MeesPierson.  He has been Chair of Triodos Bank’s Supervisory Board since 2001.

Jan Lamers (1948) is a former CEO of Uitgeversbedrijf Tijd and Vice President of the European Newspaper publishers association, Chair of CultuurNet Vlaanderen and Director of Wereldmediahuis Vzw. He has been a member of Triodos Bank’s Supervisory Board since 2002.

Margot Scheltema (1954), Vice Chair of the Board and Carla van der Weerdt-Norder (1964) are proposed for reappointment.

After all (re-)appointments the Supervisory Board will consist of the following members:

  • Aart Jan de Geus (Chair)
  • Margot Scheltema (vice Chair and Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee)
  • Carla van der Weerdt-Norder
  • Ernst-Jan Boers
  • Mathieu van den Hoogenband (Chair of the Nomination & Compensation Committee)
  • Marcos Eguiguren Huerta
  • David Carrington